Home » News » 

Boris Johnson resigns 7 July 2022
Boris Johnson resigns 7 July 2022

Prime Minister Boris Johnson has resigned as Conservative leader but remains as Prime Minister for until his successor is elected, after more than 50 ministers resigned in the past two days and several calls were made from MP’s for him to resign.

Key new cabinet members were selected:

  • Kit Malthouse has been appointed Chancellor for the Duchy of Lancaster, the most senior minister in the Cabinet Office after the Prime Minister
  • James Cleverly has been appointed Education Secretary
  • Greg Clarke has been appointed the new Levelling up Secretary
  • Robert Buckland has been appointed as Welsh Secretary
  • Andrew Stephenson has been appointed Minister without Portfolio
  • Shailesh Vara has been appointed Northern Ireland Secretary

Boris Johnson made a lunchtime statement to the nation on 7 July:

He started with saying that it is clearly now the will of the parliamentary Conservative Party that there should be a new leader of the party and therefore a new prime minister. Choosing the new leader will begin now and the timetable will be announced next week. He will stay on and serve as Prime Minister until a new leader is elected.

Boris thanked his voters from 2019, and praised government response to Brexit and the pandemic. He ended by stating his support for the next leader who he will help as much as he can, and thanked his family, civil service, armed services, the NHS and conservative party members and supporters.


Following the resignations of Chancellor Rishi Sunak and Health Secretary Sajid Javid on 5 July, several ministers resigned in the following days.

See the updated list of resignations

The Fitzrovia Partnership uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Member Login